Education and training

At the heart of a successful event is the safety and security of the spectators.  At sports grounds this is achieved through a safety management team. A fundamental part of this is education and training of everyone involved.

The SGSA, as the leaders for sports grounds safety in the UK, is involved in ensuring spectator safety qualifications meet high standards.

As noted in the Green Guide, ground management has the responsibility for ensuring that all safety personnel, whether in-house or provided under contract, are competent and, where not already qualified, have received sufficient training to carry out the duties and responsibilities assigned to them.

Spectator safety qualifications

There are three levels of spectator safety qualifications:

  • Level 2 qualification – for learners in the job role of a steward though this could similarly be an attendant, event crew member or usher.
  • Level 3 qualification – for supervisors.
  • Level 4 qualification – for senior safety officers.

New qualifications launched on February 2021, following a review of the previous standards.  The changes reflect the changing threats to sports, event and the wider crowded places sector.

The SGSA has worked with governing bodies, safety officers, venue operators, training providers, government agencies, subject matter experts and trade associations to develop the content of the qualifications.

Assessment strategy for spectator safety qualifications

Since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, the SGSA has provided an Assessment Strategy for Spectator Safety Qualifications to provide guidance on assessment of competence in the absence of either live sporting events, or spectators.

With the easing of restrictions by the UK Government and no restrictions on stadium capacities, there are now opportunities to demonstrate competence as part of the assessment process for vocational qualifications and for that reason we will be withdrawing the special COVID adaptions for the extensions of the assessments at the end of May 2022.

Anyone currently on programme can continue to use the adaptations up until the 31st May 2022.

We will keep this under review and update this page as necessary in the future.